It's a New Day in Public Health.
The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.
Florida Department of Health in Washington County
- 850 638-6240
1338 South Blvd
PO Box 648
Chipley, FL 32428
Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
How to order a Florida Birth Certificate
Who can request a birth certificate?
Births less than 100 years old are confidential and may only be issued to:
- Registrant (name on the record) if of legal age (18)
- Parent(s) listed on the Birth Record
- Legal guardian (must provide guardianship papers)
- Legal representative of one of the above persons (must provide documentation)
- By Court Order (must provide copy of court order)
- Upon receipt of registrant’s death record, a birth certificate marked “Deceased” may be issued to the spouse, child, grandchild, or sibling, if of legal age.
VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION IS REQUIRED WHEN REQUESTING A BIRTH RECORD.
If applicant is not one of the above, the application must be accompanied with a notarized Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate (DH Form 1958) signed by one of the above, along with any supporting documentation and a copy of valid photo ID of both the person authorizing release and the applicant.
Ordering a Florida Birth Certificate
Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on an application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.
Please note that limited births were recorded between 1850 and 1917.
Need information on births that occurred outside of Florida or the United States?
For births that occurred outside of Florida, visit the National Center of Health Statistics website at www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm
For births that occurred outside of the United States, visit the National Center for Health Statistics website at www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w/foreign.htm
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
Email to VitalStats@flhealth.gov
Birth Certificates - Florida Department of Health in Washington County:
1917 through present-Statewide
•Fee for Birth Certifications: $15.00
•Payment in cash, check, Visa, Mastercard or Debit
CLICK HERE to view or print the birth certificate form for Washington County.
Connect with DOH